(805) 969-4344 info@summerlandsd.org

 Who We Are 

The Summerland Sanitary District is one of many independent special districts which are voted into existence by the citizens. Special Districts serve and are sanctioned under California law to perform specific local government functions within certain boundaries. The District was formed in 1957 pursuant to the Sanitary District Act of 1923. It derives its authority in the California Health & Safety Code (Sections 6400-6830) and operates under State Water Quality Control Board Central Coast Region NPDES Permit # CA 4805400.

The Summerland Sanitary District operates and maintains:

  • More than eight miles of sewer pipelines and three pumping stations;
  • A 0.3 MGD (Million Gallons per Day) tertiary treatment plant to biologically and chemically process wastewater;
  • A 12-inch diameter ocean outfall extending 740 feet into the ocean;
  • A testing laboratory to control the treatment process and monitor treated wastewater quality for compliance with state and federal discharge requirements;
  • A system for effluent and ocean monitoring to assure that the marine environment is protected and safe for public use.


The Summerland Sanitary District was organized in 1957 by the residents of Summerland as an independent district to provide sewage services for the residents within the Summerland District boundaries. Since conception and for many years thereafter, the treatment facility operated as a conventional activated sludge process. In 1991 the Summerland Sanitary District was upgraded to a tertiary treatment facility. This treatment method ensures a higher quality of effluent. The treatment plant has a design capacity of 300,000 gallons per day.

Board of Directors

The District is governed by a five member Board of Directors who serve four year terms. The Directors are elected on an at-large basis.

Election procedures and questions can be answered by visiting Santa Barbara County election websites. At this website you will find the election procedure and applicable deadlines.

The Board meets on the second Thursday of each month. Meetings begin at 3:00 p.m. at the District located at 2435 Wallace Avenue in Summerland. All board meetings are open to the public.

David Novis, President    

James Witmer, Vice-President    

Jolene M. Colomy,  Secretary       

John W. Franklin, Director            

(pic. coming soon)

Martin E. Tucker,   Director         

Terms of Office Governing Board 
Jolene M. Colomy,  term expires December 2022
John W. Franklin, term expires December 2024
David Novis, term expires December 2024
James Witmer, term expires December 2022
Martin E. Tucker,  term expires December 2024

Certificates of CA Local Agency Ethics Training Completed by Board Members in 2020.

Resolution 2015-01 provides information on Board member compensation for days of service, ethics training and reimbursement of board expenses.

Resolution 2020-09 provides information on board bylaws and rules of procedure for the conduct of Board business.


The Board employs a District Administrative Manager,  an Operations Manager, a Lead Collections/WWTP Operator II and two WWTP Operators.  The District recovers the cost of providing sewer service from rates levied by Santa Barbara County through property taxes. The District is independently audited and subject to state and federal regulations.

District Administrative Manager
Marjon (Mar) A. Souza

Operations Manager
Noe Aguilar Vega

Lead Collections/WWTP Operator II
Eduardo Nava

Treatment Plant Sr. Operator I
Servando Alfonso Aguilar

Treatment Plant Operator I
Angel Diosdado